WSS/MOSS on Vista

It appears several have done this so I decided to make the jump.  Might I add…I LOVE THIS.  I took the plunge with MOSS since I tend to do most of my stuff in there.  Here is what you need:

 

http://community.bamboosolutions.com/blogs/bambooteamblog/archive/2008/05/21/how-to-install-windows-sharepoint-services-3-0-sp1-on-vista-x64-x86.aspx

                This tells you about everything you need to know…

                Pay attention to the IIS part so you have everything configured

                One thing that bit me right away was that ASP.Net was defaulted to run as v1.1 so when Central Admin spun it was running under 1.1 at first

                You can do the DBA install by running psconfig BEFORE you run the config like we usually recommend

                Make sure to create local users on your machine.  If you are like me, I tried through the standard “User Accounts” interface and that doesn’t work.  Click the Advanced Tab and then the Advanced button to do it that way

 

I have not configured the SSP as of yet, nor will I until needed.  This rocks!

 

Here is my script to config the main site:

psconfig -cmd configdb -create -server oma-khofer -database MOSS_Config -admincontentdatabase MOSS_Admin_Content_01 -user oma-khofer\SPFarm -password pass@word1

 

#After this is done, launch the wizard…I know there is a command to do that via psconfig, but can’t remember

 

Also, if you have any problems, tear it down, it is easy…

 

#PoSH script of course

$sspname=”SSP1”

$databaseserver=”oma-khofer”

 

#Delete SSP

stsadm -o deletessp -title $sspname -deletedatabases -force

 

#loop through and delete all your web apps you created

stsadm -o unextendvs -url http://oma-khofer:84 -deletecontent -deleteiissites

 

#Delete CA

stsadm -o deleteadminvs

 

#Disconnect

psconfig -cmd configdb -disconnect

 

$databasename="MOSS_Config"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "ALTER DATABASE [$databasename] SET SINGLE_USER WITH ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "ALTER DATABASE [$databasename] SET SINGLE_USER"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "DROP DATABASE [$databasename]"

 

$databasename="MOSS_Admin_Content_01"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "ALTER DATABASE [$databasename] SET SINGLE_USER WITH ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "ALTER DATABASE [$databasename] SET SINGLE_USER"

sqlcmd -S $databaseserver -Q "DROP DATABASE [$databasename]"

